Skip to content

Engaged and inclusive leadership – how I would act as West of England Mayor

May 1, 2017

I judge other politicians on whether they are pluralists or tribalists. Pluralists recognise that there are good people in all parties and in groups that operate outside party politics. Tribalists go beyond blinkered loyalty to their party, believing those not of their political colour to be the enemy, to be opposed at all costs. I am a pluralist. In my time as an Avon county councillor, Bristol city councillor, Member of Parliament and government minister I enjoyed the company of those from other parties and worked across party lines to get things done.

The office of regional mayor will require some skilled diplomacy and emotional intelligence to make a success of devolution. At the outset it will require the trust and confidence of the leaders of the three councils that make up the Mayoral Combined Authority. I would also want to make full use of the abilities of our 9 MPs to influence government and national agencies. I also see the 200 councillors and hundreds of parish and town councillors as community advocates whose knowledge about the needs of their residents will be invaluable in setting strategic priorities. I will also work alongside the Local Enterprise Partnership to hear the voice of local business leaders and entrepreneurs. Bringing together all of our local opinion formers will be of great importance to me, operating as a regional internal diplomat.

The regional mayor will also be the face of the region to Westminster and the rest of the world. I will be a strong voice for our region, to win business investment and further devolution of power.

A good leader should not fear robust scrutiny. The statutory requirement for scrutiny of the regional mayor is rather modest, requiring only a scrutiny committee drawn from the three councils. I want this committee to reflect the political balance of the three councils. I will go further than the statutory requirement and offer myself for regular question time sessions with all councillors. On a rotating geographical basis I will answer oral and written questions from councillors at full plenary sessions, where councillors from any of the three councils can attend. This will need amendments to the standing orders of the councils but I hope they will accept my offer in good faith. I will also open myself up to regular scrutiny by the local media and in public meetings.

I will be a mayor for both our cities, bringing Bath and Bristol closer together so we can be a world beating brand. I will also be a champion for all the towns and villages of north east Somerset and south Gloucestershire, protecting and advancing their interests when making spending and investment decisions. I will work on behalf of the whole region, together, with one voice.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.