Skip to content

Abseiling for the Bristol Children’s Hospital

September 14, 2011

Who could fail to be impressed at David Walliams’s amazing  swim along the Thames, raising money for Sport Relief?  I could see him finishing his epic swim from my Westminster office.

On Saturday I’ll be doing my own spot of charity fundraising, for the Wallace and Gromit appeal for the Bristol Children’s Hospital.  I won’t be swimming the Avon.  But I won’t be entirely on dry land either!  Instead I will be on the end of a rope abseiling down the side of the hospital.  I last did something like this when I was 14 so I’m a bit scared!

I visited the Children’s hospital and St Michael’s Maternity Hospital recently and saw the critical care and high dependency units for babies and children with chronic conditions.  I also met an 8 year old girl and her parents from Newquay in Cornwall.  She was remarkably chirpy considering she had just become one of the first children in the country to have received a kidney transplant from a non related live donor.

The hospital does remarkable work for children from all over the south of England and south Wales.  I’ve set £500 as my sponsorship target but it would be great to beat this and raise even more money.  If anyone reading this is able to make a donation please can you do it on line at http://www.justgiving.com/stephen-williams10/ where you can also leave a message of encouragement!

Thanks for whatever you can give, it will really make a difference.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    September 19, 2011 4:31 pm

    So how did it go?

Leave a Reply

