Skip to content

Thanks to the Posties

December 6, 2010

I haven’t written any of my Christmas cards yet.  I seem to leave it later and later every year.  And judging by my visit to the Montpelier Royal Mail centre this morning (officially the North Bristol Delivery office) many other people are doing the same.

The visit by the local MP to see the Christmas post being processed is one of the traditions of British politics.  At 7.30am this morning and in the dark and freezing cold I must admit I wasn’t keen on maintaining this tradition.  The centre sorts the delivery rounds for BS6 and BS7 so it processes both my official PO Box and my private home address and I met the postmen for both.   Each road had plenty of junk mail and bills but precious few Christmas cards.  There also seemed to be fewer Amazon parcels than I saw last year but apparently there’s a deluge on the way.   I was dismayed at the row upon row of internet ordered books last year as Borders on Queen’s Road were proceeding with their closing down sale.

Anyway, I thanked the men…and two ladies…who deliver our mail come rain or shine or ice.  Now, I’d better open that big box of House of Commons Christmas cards that’s been on my desk for ten days…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah Miller permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:07 pm

    It’s great to hear you are carrying out political traditions and I wish all the posties well in this awful weather.

    I was interested to look at your blog for some insight into how you’re going to vote in tomorrow’s tuition fee vote. Are you going to go against the pledge you signed earlier in the year to ensure tuitions fees weren’t raised? I suppose the U turn is just another political tradition we are all getting used too.

  2. Ex Lib Dem voter permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:06 pm

    Stephen please give me a Christmas present

    VOTE AGAINST THE FEE RISES AND KEEP YOUR PROMISE

  3. Nathan permalink
    December 9, 2010 2:26 pm

    You’re being very quiet about which way you intend to vote re: Tuition Fees.
    Please will you post your decision on this blog.

  4. Rebecca Pillinger permalink
    December 9, 2010 7:56 pm

    So now we know: you abstained. Can I just reiterate that this was as bad as voting for. We are very disappointed. Very very disappointed. You have forgotten that you are in parliament to represent your constituents, whom you promised you would vote against increased fees.

    (I’m also quite disappointed that I didn’t get any answer beyond an acknowledgement of receipt to any of the 3 emails I sent you recently asking you to vote no).

  5. johnpmaher permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:14 am

    It would be more appropriate to comment about the subject of Stephen’s post, rather than the fees issue (I too, think he should have voted against the bill). However – the Posties, they are generally very good, friendly, and remarkably cheerful considering the hours and weather. As a student I worked on the Christmas Mail, I don’t think this tradition still exists. So, keep up the tradition of visits, and to be masochistic, why don’t you join them next year when they have to clock on?

    • Noodle permalink
      December 10, 2010 3:39 pm

      I think it is perfectly appropriate for Rachel to post a comment on the day that our MP voted in defiance of those who supported him.

      Oh and this is what our MP had to say about abstaining MP’s before he got a taste of power …

      http://bit.ly/eguy8x

      What a hypocrite.

      • Noodle permalink
        December 10, 2010 3:40 pm

        sorry Rebecca – I don’t mean Rachel

  6. Richard permalink
    December 10, 2010 6:25 pm

    Abstention on tuition fees is a BETRAYAL says Lie Dem MP Stephen Williams – who abstains. http://ht.ly/3ngoB

  7. December 10, 2010 9:51 pm

    You thanked the posties but are you planning to vote to privatise them?

  8. BobS permalink
    December 13, 2010 9:14 am

    I wouldn’t bother opening your post this Xmas

Leave a Reply

